High School Club High Power Attempt- Mentor Needed

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JackO

Aerospace Engineer- MIT/SpaceX
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I am a sophomore at Chaminade High School in West Hills, CA, and I'm trying to rebuild our rocket research club.

We had an extremely dedicated mentor in the past who did 90% of the work on our zinc-sulfur rockets (welding, propellant, electronics...), but now that he is unavailable, I'm trying to reinvigorate the club. I am inspired by the projects all of you have undertaken, and I need your advice and your help.

I have taken over the role as mentor for the time being; giving presentations, lessons, rocket fuel tests, etc. and that's because I love the engineering challenges and satisfaction rocketry offers. Our club want to move in the direction of high power rockets (of course), and if we can receive a sliver of the funding our robotics club gets, I think we can accomplish something great. I have built APCP motors in the past but my largest engine was admittedly very modest producing only 110 lbs of thrust- a 40% I engine. This engine sent my rocket to ~10,000 feet, but my poor solder joints on my timer forced me to remove the entire recovery system and leave a nice crater in the Lucerne dry lake bed.

While it is ambitious, I think it is possible for our club to send a rocket to the neighborhood of 70-100,000 feet, yet the more I plan, the more challenging the task appears. With the help of a mentor, I am confident we can build a two-stage N/0 to M rocket that will perform, but we do need a mentor.