First Time with MPR

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnnycarlos

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm new to MPR and these forums. Built many an Estes LPR when I was young and have built a few for my son recently. I've decided to up my rocketry skills and try MPR. I really, really wanted to get a Mega Der Red Max since it's so impressively massive, but it's pricey for a first timer. When I saw the sale price for an Argent and Ventris, I could not look past that and decided to get them both as a more practical first time experience. I also want to try reloadables since the motor costs are so much higher now. Based on what I read, I decided to order an Aerotech 29/40-120 as it will work with these two models without any modification. I sure hope anyways, information is harder to come by. Anyways, what would be a good propellant kit for my first few flights?

Any insights appreciated.

Also saw the sale price of the Cosmic Interceptor and the Photon Probe and couldn't resist adding them to the soon-to-be fleet(arsenal?).

Thanks!

John

For E's I go with the single-use E15 or E30 as they are borderline Fs with 40N and with most bang-for-the-buck E motor. I get them in 3-packs for $23CDN

The 29/40-120 is great for big Fs and the G64!

The DMS G80-14A NBT has the most newtons-per-dollar for mid power at ~$0.14/N

You are on the right track. I got 3 Partizons and 2 Scions with the Leviathan fin can tubes to make 2 stretch Leviathans. The Estes Pro II builders kits are awesome values. I'm going to burn G's, H's and maybe an I in some of these.

Partizon thread:
https://www.rocketryforum.com/showthread.php?135094-Yep-another-Partizon-build-thread

Stretch Leviathan is almost done at this point. Just need to finish the stretch part and paint. All epoxy on this one. Looking solid.