Use and purchase of PEM nuts

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbraibish

Reaction score
I have seen several build threads or construction videos (j Coker) That mention the use of PEM nuts. I have no experience with them and really don't know what I am shopping for. I have looked at McMaster-Carr and other hardware suppliers and found a variety of options, ones for soft metal and plastics, sheet metal etc. My first impulse was to go with the soft metal/plastics type but then saw that the sheet metal option had inserts with a deeper engagement.

If you have used PEM nuts with 4" fiberglass tube I am looking to learn what to buy (and what not to buy) So far my only exposure to these has been pictures on the net. If I had a bin of these to sift through, look at etc. I think I could make the decision easily but I don't.

Right now, I am inclined to go with this one for sheet metal (vs plastic), it has the deepest engagement. https://www.mcmaster.com/#95185a171/=13eb3xs

Any other advice or guidance on install etc. of these little do-dads would be nice... though I have a pretty good idea on how I plan to put them in I am always willing to listen to one who has done it.

Thanks
Robert

I use them. What you want are Pem broaching nuts. In a 4" rocket I am using 8x32 to hold AV bay. There is a particular size bit you will need for each size of Pem but. Generally, I drill the hole. Line up the Pem nut, and use a screw and washer to pull it into place. Then I usually throw an epoxy fillet around them for good measure.

I have used them extensively. One of my key learnings was that the hole in fiberglass needs to be clean, and not out of round. If you use brad point drill bits, and back it with a rounded piece of wood (like 1" wooden pole), it will cut a relatively clean hole in fiberglass.

Here is the p/n of the ones I use...