Motor mount length question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackwing94

Reaction score
I’m new to high power. I did a successful Level 1 flight last weekend with a LOC cyclotron, my first 38mm rocket. I flew on a Aerotech H130W. When I assembled the motor, the instructions said to use as much of the black powder as you need for your rocket. I figured it’s better to have to much than not enough, so I used all of it.

The cyclotron came with a 15” motor mount tube and a 3” X 34” body tube. That left me with around 16 inches between the end of the motor mount tube and the shoulder of a transition piece to put recovery gear. One my first (and only) flight, using all the black powder that came with the AT H130W, everything worked. (Whew)

I’m starting to build a LOC Shadowhawk and the Shadowhawk, like the Cyclotron, came with the same LOC 3” body tube, 34” long.

The Shadowhawk however, came with a 20” motor mount tube. 5 inches longer than the cyclotron motor mount tube (remember, same body tube). That would only leave me with 10” between the end of the motor mount tube and a coupler bulkhead for recovery gear. So I assume I’m supposed to cut the motor mount tube down to size... yes?? (and I'm a little nervous putting recovery gear so close to the end of the motor mount, even with nomex)

My question is, roughly how long should the motor mount tube be? Should it be longer that the biggest motor you plan to use? By how much?

Since I can pick how long the motor mount tube is, that means I can pick the size of the space I need to pressurize with the black powder charge. Are their guidelines for the size of space a given black powder charge can pressurize?