Missileworks stranded wire recommendation - why?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crash-n-Burn

Reaction score
I noticed that the RRC2+ instructions recommend stranded wire (20/22 awg) for all connections. I didn't have any so I recycled some e-match wire, which is single-strand copper. Everything looks good and the altimeter passed vacuum chamber testing. I know people wire e-matches directly to the board so this is not an entirely uncommon practice.

Does anyone know why they make the stranded reco? I'm not an electrician by trade but guess it is because stranded will spread and make a better contact in the pressure plates. Is that it or is there a more sophisticated reason?

Apologies if I butchered some of the wiring terms, hopefully I got the point across.

When copper wire flexes back and forth in the same spot (from forces during launch, deployment, landing, etc) it will eventually crack and break. If this happens with single strand wire, as soon as that one strand breaks, your connection is lost. It can happen inside insulation where it can't be seen. The first hint the wire has failed is your rocket coming in ballistic.

I use tinned ethernet cables (the twisted pairs). Advantages include cheap, colored, and pre-twisted. I always tin the ends to keep stray wires from floating off. :)

I replace all wires after each launch and I use extra electric match wires. I have never had an electronics failure.

I replace all wires after each launch and I use extra electric match wires. I have never had an electronics failure.

I use stranded wires from the battery to the altimeters and switches, then direct wire my ematches to the altimeters (solid single wire). Its been reliable for about 50 or so flights so far.