Help Support RocketryForum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.


Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    7th July 2006
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    1,035

    Issues Getting Comp to Recognize Missle Works Dongle

    I have downloaded every dang driver I can find and I can't get my computer to recognize the USB device. I'm running Windows 7, Pro 64bit. The CDM file listed in the manual isn't on MWs website that I can find but I found alternatives that should have worked. Anyone else have this issue? Alt is a RRC3 but I never get far enough for that to matter...

    Mike
    NAR #86177
    TRA #16435
    L1 with Loc Precision H76 Vulcanite on H73J (2,109') 7/23/06
    L2 with Binder Design Velociraptor on K695R (6,171' @ 716mph) 9/20/15
    L3 with Polecat Aerospace 10" Nike Smoke on M2500T (6,468' @ 556mph) 11/26/16 (RIP 5/26/17 )

    Current Projects:
    Waive Goodbye (design around 18k waiver)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    I'm having the same issue with mine. I emailed Jim at MW (who is very helpful, btw) and he suggested it might be a bad dongle. I'm going to test my setup out with CZteacherman's dongle tonight to see if my dongle is broken or not. What's strange is that my dongle worked before, and somehow decided to stop working recently. I'll let you know the results.

    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    .. and yes, I do realize how some people with filthy minds might misread my dongle comments above, but I'm leaving them in there
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    7th July 2006
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    1,035
    I giggle like the immature adult that I am every time I say, type or read the word "dongle."

    Yeah, let me know what you find. I just picked this one up used so hopefully I didn't get the wrong end of the gamble....
    Mike
    NAR #86177
    TRA #16435
    L1 with Loc Precision H76 Vulcanite on H73J (2,109') 7/23/06
    L2 with Binder Design Velociraptor on K695R (6,171' @ 716mph) 9/20/15
    L3 with Polecat Aerospace 10" Nike Smoke on M2500T (6,468' @ 556mph) 11/26/16 (RIP 5/26/17 )

    Current Projects:
    Waive Goodbye (design around 18k waiver)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    13th October 2014
    Location
    SouthEastern, WA
    Posts
    5,311
    Did you already check that mDACS had the proper COM port selected?
    Rich

    NAR# 99154

    L3-4x upscale Estes Cherokee-D- AT M1297W 5/28/2016 http://www.rocketryforum.com/showthr...r-rharshberger

    TriCities Rocketeers NAR section# 736 http://www.tricitiesrocketeers.org/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    Quote Originally Posted by fyrfytr310 View Post
    Yeah, let me know what you find. I just picked this one up used so hopefully I didn't get the wrong end of the gamble....
    You picked up a used dongle?! Last time I did that, I got a rash that wouldn't go away.

    FYI- mine won't even generate a COM port in my computer. I installed the software, tried several different cables, no joy.
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  7. #7
    Join Date
    8th December 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,839

  8. #8
    Join Date
    7th July 2006
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    1,035
    My issues start before that. My computer won't even recognize the USB device to even assign a port...

    Mike
    NAR #86177
    TRA #16435
    L1 with Loc Precision H76 Vulcanite on H73J (2,109') 7/23/06
    L2 with Binder Design Velociraptor on K695R (6,171' @ 716mph) 9/20/15
    L3 with Polecat Aerospace 10" Nike Smoke on M2500T (6,468' @ 556mph) 11/26/16 (RIP 5/26/17 )

    Current Projects:
    Waive Goodbye (design around 18k waiver)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    Quote Originally Posted by fyrfytr310 View Post
    My issues start before that. My computer won't even recognize the USB device to even assign a port...
    I get this error as well. I tried it on two computers with the same result.
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  10. #10
    Join Date
    20th February 2009
    Location
    Cayuga, Indiana
    Posts
    12,598

    Issues Getting Comp to Recognize Missle Works Dongle

    I have 3 USB ports on my laptop. Two ports work, one never does whether Missileworks or Perfectflite. A conflict or port range problem I expect. So you might try other ports.
    L3, TRA #11847
    Tripoli Indiana #132
    Tripoli Central Illinois #59
    Central Illinois Aerospace (NAR) #527
    Chicago Rocket Mafia, "Big Bucks" Dixon
    ___________________________________

    Quiet little voices creep into my head. -- We Were Promised Jetpacks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    Quote Originally Posted by dixontj93060 View Post
    I have 3 USB ports on my laptop. Two ports work, one never does whether Missileworks or Perfectflite. A conflict or port range problem I expect. So you might try other ports.
    I tried all 3 ports on my laptop, plus 2 ports on another laptop. I tried swapping cables (thinking it was a bogus cable), and a fresh install of mdacs and the usb->com driver on both computers. Also tried various combinations of the usb-io on and off, plugged and unplugged. No joy.
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  12. #12
    Join Date
    8th August 2014
    Location
    Rockford, IL
    Posts
    2,314
    Quote Originally Posted by djs View Post
    I tried all 3 ports on my laptop, plus 2 ports on another laptop. I tried swapping cables (thinking it was a bogus cable), and a fresh install of mdacs and the usb->com driver on both computers. Also tried various combinations of the usb-io on and off, plugged and unplugged. No joy.
    We'll try my dongle in all your ports. If that doesn't work, we'll just use it in mine.
    -CzTeacherMan
    TRA #15280 - QCRS, Tripoli Wisconsin, WOOSH
    Level 1 - 9/28/2014 Wildman Sport on CTI H163 White Thunder
    Level 2 - 5/23/2015 Wildman 3" Darkstar CTI J400 Smoky Sam
    First Mile+ & Mach+ - 9/25/2015 Wildman Punisher CTI J360 Skidmark
    Level 3 - 5/15/2016 Wildman Gizmo XL-DD-V CTI M1540 Imax

  13. #13
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    Update- CZteacherman came over with his dongle. After testing it in a few ports, it worked perfectly. My dongle, however does not. It's a little disheartening to not even be 40 years old and have dongle issues, but I guess it could happen to anyone.
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  14. #14
    Join Date
    13th October 2014
    Location
    SouthEastern, WA
    Posts
    5,311
    Quote Originally Posted by djs View Post
    Update- CZteacherman came over with his dongle. After testing it in a few ports, it worked perfectly. My dongle, however does not. It's a little disheartening to not even be 40 years old and have dongle issues, but I guess it could happen to anyone.
    I hate it when my dongles dangle is all wrong or worse doesn't work...
    Rich

    NAR# 99154

    L3-4x upscale Estes Cherokee-D- AT M1297W 5/28/2016 http://www.rocketryforum.com/showthr...r-rharshberger

    TriCities Rocketeers NAR section# 736 http://www.tricitiesrocketeers.org/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    Quote Originally Posted by rharshberger View Post
    I hate it when my dongles dangle is all wrong or worse doesn't work...
    All my dongle does is dangle. it's supposed to jingle jangle when I wrangle with it and try to get it to dingle. Now I just want to strangle and mangle.

    Ok, I'll stop now
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  16. #16
    Join Date
    8th August 2014
    Location
    Rockford, IL
    Posts
    2,314
    My dongle jingles, jangles, and occasionally just dangles. Luckily it dongles just fine when called upon to do so. It even dangles its dongle in Glen's ports once we tried the other port.
    -CzTeacherMan
    TRA #15280 - QCRS, Tripoli Wisconsin, WOOSH
    Level 1 - 9/28/2014 Wildman Sport on CTI H163 White Thunder
    Level 2 - 5/23/2015 Wildman 3" Darkstar CTI J400 Smoky Sam
    First Mile+ & Mach+ - 9/25/2015 Wildman Punisher CTI J360 Skidmark
    Level 3 - 5/15/2016 Wildman Gizmo XL-DD-V CTI M1540 Imax

  17. #17
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    I'm not even sure what we're talking about any more

    Anyway- back to the original question- I sent my results of my testing to Jim at Missile works. We'll see what he says.

    fyrfytr310- do you have access to someone else's USB I/O to test with?
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  18. #18
    Join Date
    15th July 2015
    Location
    Tidewater area of Virginia
    Posts
    1,380
    Don't let your dingle dangle dangle in the dirt.
    ATCS(AW) Tom Keith, USN, ret. _____NAR 99781 L1_____MDRA 212
    SEVRA, NAR 621http://www.sevra.org/ Tripoli East North Carolina (Bayboro), TRA #65, http://ncrockets.org/, MDRA http://www.mdrocketry.org/
    LVL 1 24 October 2015, Leviathan, CTI H133, 2469 ft, Bayboro
    LVL 2 Soon, Super DX3, AT J420 Redline, est 3500 ft, Bayboro or MDRA

  19. #19
    Join Date
    7th July 2006
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    1,035
    Hey hey! We are in business. Turns out there is nothing wrong with my dongle (don't ask my wife or if you do, don't tell me her response). Jim at MW was kind enough to work with me for about 15 minutes trying different drivers, comparing to other altimeter systems I have etc, etc. Then I finally though out loud, "Hmm... I wonder if it could be the Mini-USB cable." So I dug one out of my cable stash and whadaya know? It fired right up!

    Problem solved and one junk cable removed from the pile.
    Mike
    NAR #86177
    TRA #16435
    L1 with Loc Precision H76 Vulcanite on H73J (2,109') 7/23/06
    L2 with Binder Design Velociraptor on K695R (6,171' @ 716mph) 9/20/15
    L3 with Polecat Aerospace 10" Nike Smoke on M2500T (6,468' @ 556mph) 11/26/16 (RIP 5/26/17 )

    Current Projects:
    Waive Goodbye (design around 18k waiver)

  20. #20
    Join Date
    27th July 2014
    Location
    south beloit, IL
    Posts
    1,916
    Awesome- congrats!
    NAR# 99285
    Tripoli# 16283
    L1- 4/26/2015 Madcow Cowabunga- H123SK
    L2- 11/1/2015 Wildman Darkstar 2.6- J355RL
    Woosh
    QCRS

  21. #21
    Join Date
    18th January 2009
    Location
    Savannnah, Ga
    Posts
    7,486
    Well...sometimes it the simplest thing!
    Glad it worked out OK.
    Jim Hendricksen
    L-3 Tripoli 9693
    [ICBM, Orangeburg,SC R.I.P.] - QCRS ,Princeton ILL - MDRA , Price Maryland - Woosh, Bong Wisconsin- ROCC, Charlotte NC , ICBM Camden SC
    "Made" member of Chicago & Carolina Rocket Mafia
    Rocketry...........an exact science.......but not exactly !!!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    15th October 2016
    Location
    Huntsville AL
    Posts
    1,325
    Old post, but I can't seem to connect to the Dongle I just got from Tim.
    Tim, did yous sell me a dinky dongle!?

    I think I've got another mini usb cable I'll try out tomorrow.
    "I'm at least 70% confident about whatever I say (90% of the time)"- college me

    NAR 101195
    Level 1: Big SAM, 9/10/16

  23. #23
    Join Date
    20th February 2009
    Location
    Cayuga, Indiana
    Posts
    12,598
    Quote Originally Posted by Nytrunner View Post
    Old post, but I can't seem to connect to the Dongle I just got from Tim.
    Tim, did yous sell me a dinky dongle!?

    I think I've got another mini usb cable I'll try out tomorrow.
    No, it works. I tested it thoroughly. Jim Amos may have updates to his firmware to make this easier, but for the three RRC3's I had, you need a very specific sequence to connect.

    1. No power connection to RRC3.
    2. Dongle connection to RRC3 with switch set to off.
    3. Plug dongle into first RRC3, then computer USB.
    4. Start Missileworks mDACs.
    5. Select COM port (usually the highest, but not always).
    6. Hit Connect button on mDACs program.
    7. Note counter starting at 20s. When counter reaches 17s turn on dongle board (but no later than 16s).
    8. If timing is right, RRC3 will connect.
    9. If not, turn off dongle, exit mDACs program. Restart mDACs and proceed with step 5 (may be different COM port) or step 6, may have missed connect window between 17s and 16s.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Rocketry Forum mobile app
    L3, TRA #11847
    Tripoli Indiana #132
    Tripoli Central Illinois #59
    Central Illinois Aerospace (NAR) #527
    Chicago Rocket Mafia, "Big Bucks" Dixon
    ___________________________________

    Quiet little voices creep into my head. -- We Were Promised Jetpacks

  24. #24
    Join Date
    8th December 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,839
    are any lights on..on the RC3?

    if not, unplug and plug it back in when your connection has failed..

    Tony

  25. #25
    Join Date
    15th October 2016
    Location
    Huntsville AL
    Posts
    1,325
    No lights on the RRC3, two blinking reds on the dongle.

    I was using the connection sequence from the mDac manual. I'll give these a shot tomorrow. Thanks folks!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    15th October 2016
    Location
    Huntsville AL
    Posts
    1,325
    I think its a driver issue.
    Which is weird because I thought if you had Perfectflite drivers datacap working, the drivers were supposed to work as well.

    I get nothing on the Comm port dropdown. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Comm port.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	3.4 KB 
ID:	327952Click image for larger version. 

Name:	error.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	6.3 KB 
ID:	327953Click image for larger version. 

Name:	usb.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	7.2 KB 
ID:	327954

  27. #27
    Join Date
    15th October 2016
    Location
    Huntsville AL
    Posts
    1,325
    Ok, cheap chinese 808 camera cables are bad for connection. I have feeling I should have known this, but oh well.

    All looks good now!

  28. #28
    Join Date
    20th February 2009
    Location
    Cayuga, Indiana
    Posts
    12,598
    Glad you got it working!

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Rocketry Forum mobile app
    L3, TRA #11847
    Tripoli Indiana #132
    Tripoli Central Illinois #59
    Central Illinois Aerospace (NAR) #527
    Chicago Rocket Mafia, "Big Bucks" Dixon
    ___________________________________

    Quiet little voices creep into my head. -- We Were Promised Jetpacks

  29. #29
    Join Date
    26th November 2009
    Posts
    4,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Nytrunner View Post
    Ok, cheap chinese 808 camera cables are bad for connection. I have feeling I should have known this, but oh well.

    All looks good now!
    Everyone learns this the hard way eventually. Invest in a good quality cable and you can use the rest for battery chargers. Kurt

  30. #30
    Join Date
    15th October 2016
    Location
    Huntsville AL
    Posts
    1,325
    Quote Originally Posted by ksaves2 View Post
    Everyone learns this the hard way eventually. Invest in a good quality cable and you can use the rest for battery chargers. Kurt
    I just had to dig out a legit one we used for my old IREC team's Entacore Aim 3 (ferrite bead and everything!). I knew I should have used that one to start with, but the camera cables were right next to the coffee table........

    I've already snooped through Tim's 8 flights that he left onboard! (What were those? Precision 1 mile attempts?)

    And just for full disclosure, it will likely be referred to as the Dixon Dinky Dongle for a long as its in my possession.


Similar Threads

  1. Missle Works RRC3 problem
    By Killachrome in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th May 2015, 11:55 AM
  2. missle works RRC3 gps. any progress?
    By Julian in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th December 2014, 02:11 AM
  3. Missle Works -- RRC2 documentation
    By supertaco in forum Rocketry Electronics and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2014, 03:40 AM
  4. Missle Works
    By qquake2k in forum The Watering Hole
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 07:43 AM
  5. Missle Works Phone Number?
    By Peter in forum Recovery
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th November 2007, 06:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •