Blackbird Project -- Arduino-controlled high-power carbon fiber rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NoahTurner

Reaction score
Hello, Rocketry Forum. As you can see, this is my post #1, which is coincidentally the same as the number of rockets I have ever built and launched. I am far from an expert in this field, but I have been lurking here for a little while, and I think I have found the experts. I am hoping to get some help on a project I am currently developing. (I have not started to build yet, it is still in the design phase. I would like to finalize the design before buying all the materials.)

This is a website I built to quickly present the whole thing. https://therootword.com/blackbird
It includes the .ork file, full written specifications, pictures, and some details on the project itself, as well as some other things.

The short version:
-High-powered rocket
-Carbon fiber construction
-6'7" / 202 cm length
-3.72 kg / 8.20 lb mass
-1210 N*s J140 motor
-Simulates to 1.02 mi / 1.65 km

The interesting part:
-Autonomous active stabilization, powered by Arduino with gyro, accelerometer, and pressure sensor, with four servos and control fins
-Altitude cut-off
-On-board video
-Post-landing GPS tracking

I have tried to be thorough with this, and while there are pages of calculations and notes that have not been uploaded, the website covers most of the important points. That being said, I am sure there are naive errors and omissions, so I look forward to all of you ripping it apart.

Thank you in advance for your criticism and feedback.

Welcome to the Forum Noah.

You have picked an ambitious project. Have to ask if you are high power certified by NAR or TRA, and what local rocketry club you belong to since a project like this will be a lot easier if you launch with an organized group?