3d Printing for Morons?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
It seems this could go in "Electronics and Software" (since it's mostly an electronics and software question) or "Techniques" (which is where I've seen all the other 3d Printing topics), so, Mods, feel free to move if necessary.

I'll soon be getting my first 3d printer, and, among other things, hope to use it for small nose cones.

Although I took a number of drafting and technical drawing classes in high school, that was a long time ago, and long predated CAD. So, of course, I've found a number of "how to" articles, and am starting to play with OpenSCAD.

I know there are other members that have experience with 3d printing rocket parts; I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on "3d printing rocket parts for the complete beginner" ... :)

3d printing rocket parts is pretty much the same as 3d printing anything else. You have to think about the process. You can get a lot of very intricate shapes when 3d printing, but depending on your set up, you will break your part when trying to get support off your build material. It is mainly just a lot of experimentation and learning how to use your 3d printer.

Don't let this scare you, 3d printing is great for rocketry. I have actually 3d printed a mid-high powered rocket. Just make sure you level your build plate EVERY TIME YOU PRINT!!! This will save on the wasted material and failed prints. Good luck!

I've been telling everyone new to 3D modelling to learn Fusion 360. It is generally more user friendly than openscad, it's professional quality, and its free.