Open rocket vs. rocksim?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoshLewy32

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm relatively new to the world of HPR, therefore I don't really know a lot about simulation software. But by browsing this forum I notice a lot of people talking about rocksim and open rocket and I was wondering which software really is the best for designing HPR. Are there any downsides to rocksim that open rocket solves? Really I am just wondering what everyone thinks of the two and what they prefer the most.

Uh oh! Time to put on my fire retardant suit this is going to be a hot topic.....:)

Actually neither is any better than the other, Rocksim has a few more features like the ability to sim pods and to put fins on transitions/tailcones. Open Rocket has a better interface and is easier to use. As far as the sims with the rockets designed in either they are pretty good, I use Open Rocket and have yet to have a design OR said was stable be unstable, and most were within less than 10% of altitude sims. Rocksim is similar, but its not free either, another reason I like OR. Between RasAeroII, Rocksim and OR they all get the job done. FYI any Rocksim .rkt file can be opened and edited by OpenRocket open rockets file extensions are .ork, I haven't tested to see if the reverse is true by renaming the .ork to .rkt, however Rocksim will not open a .ork file on its own. You do have to watch when using .rkt in OpenRocket that the overrides are correct otherwise you may get wildly different results.

Last edited:
Uh oh! Time to put on my fire retardant suit this is going to be a hot topic.....:)