Project "Shorty R" - less than 1 foot high BT-60 rear-eject

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cabernut

Reaction score
Here is one I've been tinkering with for a while now. Started as spare parts from my Magnum build. I have all the parts on hand except for a streamer.
What I would like to do is build a short rocket with the Vagabond fin set that is rear eject. After drawing it up in OR, I really like it.

The issue right now is that I have ZERO experience with rear-eject and I'm jumping into a custom design. Any kind of feedback would be greatly appreciated as I don't really know how well this is going to work.

Here is the file:
View attachment Shorty_R_v1.ork

Here is a snapshot of the design:
Shorty_R_basic_design.jpg

Looks cool to me!
shorty_in_action_1.jpg

Cabernut,
Would break some of the concepts down for ye, but I would never be able to do better than Mr Rocket himself:
https://www.apogeerockets.com/Advan...deo_82?zenid=c00c137afe794e8e45e87c7cae0c6974

Given that you have a short stubby rocket and will be packing the recovery material aftward, would make sure you have enough weight in the forward end so that the rocket is stable (ie: CG is more forward than the CP) and it sims to be stable as well.

I love his videos... Lots of good info on the Apogee site. I wish he went into a little bit more detail on that one.

With about 8-10g of nose weight, I can keep it around the 0.8 to 1.0 caliber range depending on engine which should be good for a short rocket based on what I've read.

I think I'll fly it once and see what breaks, build a 2nd one with improvements. Only thing I'm really worried about is the HDPE nose cone warping on ejection. HDPE has a low melting point of 266F where the polystyrene nose cones melting point is 464F. With this design, the ejection gases are going to fill up the nose cone while ejecting the rear module.