Staging electronics setup

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mccrocketman

Reaction score
Hi All-as my previous posts can attest, I am new to staging. I got my hands on a Wildman 2-stage rocket, and I was wondering if I could get advice on the best way to set up the staging electronics? My plan is to use a small BP charge to separate the booster from the sustainer, and and to ignite the sustainer via electronics in the sustainer body tube. A conduit will be placed through the RR CRs, and I was thinking of putting a small e-bay w/ timers right above the motor. Suggestions on how to do this? I don't like the idea of "break-away" wires that run up to the main electronics bay.....too much of a risk of getting caught/not breaking away at apogee. Any pictures/help would be much appreciated!

I'm working through my WM Jr. two stage build right now, which is mostly complete.

I use a Raven in the sustainer ebay to control sustainer ignition under criteria of time, altitude, and velocity. A JST connector links the wire running through the conduit to the ebay, and it pulls apart when the apogee ejection charge goes off. Hasn't flown yet but ground tested very well, prevents any issue with having to break wires and if you strain relieve it correctly (tape it to harness above connector and tape lower wires to inside of body tube) it should yield a reusable, reliable connection.