Open rocket help

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TRFfan

Reaction score
I'm designing a 18 mm MD rocket and open rocket says that it should reach an altitude of 2268 m (7440 ft) with an aerotech D2.3. Of course, this is with a polished finish and airfoiled fins, but I still think the altitude sims are way off. With a ~2 inch nose cone, OR predicted an altitude of 1911 m and a Cd of 0.25, but when I shortened the nose cone to 4 mm and changed the shape to a 0.5 parabolic, it increased the altitude to 2200 meters and raised the stability by 0.4 calibers. Also, when I checked the Cd, it turned out that it was only 0.2! I thought that something was wrong, so I started playing around with the nose cone shape and when I changed it to conical, the altitude dropped to 952 m. I think that something is wrong. Any ideas?

BTW, my rocket has a stability of 0.6 cal. Should it be ok with that level of stability?

Hello! I tried opening both files and they are all screwed up.
And by the way, you want a stability of at least 1.0

Sorry. I finally got to downloading the file :)

First things first. Your fins are not even attached to your body tube. OR currently does not support fins on the boat tail.

Secondly, OR does not really like sharp pointy fins like you have.

A back of the hand sim puts you at about 2000 feet. You may want to consider adding some length to your rocket. It will make it go much higher.

Attached is an example of a 18mm MD rocket that does 4K feet on a D2.3 :) Try a design more like that.

As always, feel free to ask more questions :)

Matt

View attachment D altituide rocket (3) 2.ork

This is what I see when I opened the file:

attachment.php

D altituide rocket (3) 2.png

First things first. Your fins are not even attached to your body tube. OR currently does not support fins on the boat tail.