Suggestions for first HPR

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BDB

Absent Minded Professor
Reaction score
I'm a BAR who has "hung around" rocketry for the past couple decades, but now I'm getting serious about pushing into HPR. I want to build my first HPR kit over the next couple months and purchase my first reloadable engine system. I know that there will be more opinions than members on this forum, but I'm open to suggestions.

I want to build something that is versatile because I'm interested in learning new things like DD, GPS tracking, fiberglass and CF materials, and even custom-built engines and/or hybrid motors. (I'm sure I won't be able to get all of that in one kit.) The last one will probably take a little while, but I'm a PhD chemist with my own research lab, so I have access to more materials and safety equipment than the average guy.

Two examples of the kits that I'm looking into thus far are the Madcow Torrent because it looks like DD should be easy and the HyperLOC 300 because I could fly almost anything in the 54 mm engine mount (with the necessary adaptors, of course).

Do you guys have any suggestions about these or other L1 certification-type kits? And do you have any suggestions about which reloadable engine system to buy (I'm leaning towards a Loki 29 or 38 mm system thus far, but I have no idea about which length to start with). Budget is always an issue, but I'm wiling to invest ~$200 for the kit and the engine over the next couple months.

Check with the vendors and you can find cert specials like buy a reload and get the case free.

Of course with the new Aerotech single use motors there's no need to buy commercial hardware to certify.

I'll recommend Loki 38 for a few reasons.
1) I'm a Loki Fanboy
2) no hazmat on many of their 38mm loads, including things like the I405