Clear HPR Fins?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kruegon

Reaction score
I've seen fins made of acrylic used in LPR and MPR but never in HPR.

I apparently do more designing than building now days. I've got two designs I'm working on that would visually benefit from clear fins. The only material that I'm aware of that would be strong enough is Lexan (polycarbonate).

It's definitely strong enough. But is it too flexible? And if it's viable, what would be strong enough to bond it to blue tube or fiberglass airframes?

First off how fast do you plan to push this rocket? If its less than Mach 1. I'd say anything ranging from hobby epoxy to rocketpoxy or even Aeropoxy.

If your going fast, you can bet they will melt and get destroyed.

I have little experience with building either clear fins or anything meant to fly on more than an I, but I do know Lexan is heavy. As I understand it, both polycarbonate and acrylic have glues that will weld two pieces into one effective piece, so I suggest testing out building polycarb or acrylic fins much like one would build model airplane wings - rib and skin. I've built plywood fins for MPR/HPR this way on a 4" Astrobee 1500 and they are incredibly stiff for their weight and the materials used. So stiff and strong that the next version gets thinner wood throughout. You may need to use something besides the plastic to mount the fins, as any clear tabs may not take flutter well, however.

I have used 3/16" polycarbonate clear fins on my Gemini-Titan and my 1/12 scale Atlas Mercury. For the Titan the fins were through the wall and epoxied in place. The model has flown on two H-motors and two G-motors. For the Atlas the fins are bolted in place in fin slots. The model has flown on a single K-motor.

Details for the Gemini-Titan can be found here: