First post - 3D printing, cluster engines and a GoPro.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MidKnight

Reaction score
Hello all

First post. I've not made a rocket in almost two decades. However, I have 3 year old twins and they thinks its mighty awesome, so I'm back in the game. I made two Alpha 3s for them, an Estes Renegade-D for me. Now, I want to launch my GoPro and see what I see.

So, I'm getting a 3" tube and using my Makerbot for the rest. Currently I'm printing a boat tail combination dual engine housing and fin assembly. The nose cone will house the camera and be printed next.

I went dual 24mm engines because I will exceed the weight rating for a D engine. I have no experience with anything larger, so I thought clustering would be my best bet.

Question: the 3D print won't be perfectly smooth, what would you use as filler to be sanded flat?

Also, any other thoughts and comments would be appreciated.

I'll update more when the parts are done printing over the next few days (this assembly will take 26+ hours).

And below is the start of the 3D print. Note, that plinth its on is just to level the build plate and easily snaps off.

20150813_083815.jpg

I have used Bondo to smooth PLA rocket parts.

Hi and Welcome!

I've worked with both PLA and ABS...

Getting the PLA smooth was a PITA, that stuff is really hard. I understand though that the parts can soften in a hot car, and may be problematic on high heat applications.

For the ABS, I painted the part with acetone to fuse any exposed joints together, then sanded the part smooth. This has yielded some pretty nice results for me.

All The Best!
Jim

Hello and welcome to the best place to get information and learn about rocketry..
It is way too cool that you get to do this with your children...
They will grow up flying rockets with their pop....
If I may offer some advice,,