Estes PSII Nike Smoke Plastic fin paint prep

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zebedee

Reaction score
I'm starting a build on an Estes Nike Smoke, it will be mostly stock except I'll be using rocketpoxy for most of the gluing and I'll probably beef up the shock cord and attachment.

The thing I have no experience of is painting the plastic fins. I've had non-optimal (but not horrible) results painting plastic nose cones before so thought I would ask here if anyone
has any advice/tips on how to prep the fins, what paint to use etc.

I'm probably going to try to replicate the paint job in this video rather than the standard one: [video=youtube;_UwDvZ0QZs0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UwDvZ0QZs0[/video]

I think the key is prep more than anything else. Make sure that you scuff sand the plastic to allow the paint to bond better, wash the surface, and it helps if you use paint that is formulates for plastic. I shot my Nike Smoke with Rustoleum 2X primer (which claims plastic bonding) due to the sheer amount of plastic surface area. The trouble I had in painting mine was it seemed every time I sprayed the red, crap would fall in it, and I'd have to sand it and redo it. One thing I will note - do NOT spray Rustoleum's Filler Primer over the 2X primer. Not compatible, and will craze...

Testor's paint is designed specifically for plastic models, and I have always had success with it. But it is very expensive.

This is what I've done for my Estes Nike Smoke:

1) Wash plastic with soapy (dishwashing liquid added) water to remove any production oil on the plastic (paint doesn't stick well to oil. :wink:).
2) lightly sand to remove sheen from the surface for better paint adhesion (gives paint more "bite" and less "flake")