Strengthening Plywood Fins

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pull_and_Twist

Weekend Rocketeer
Reaction score
How do you guys go about it? I'm currently building an ESTES Argent and this is my first time dealing with plywood fins. Normally with balsa I would skin the fins and coat the edges with CA. Do people do that with plywood too?

Plywood is very strong, and won't break like balsa. For my Red Max, I did add a thin layer of glass to toughen the fins up though - helps with "hanger-rash" and getting smacked around in the car. A simple procedure is to lay out parchment paper on a flat smooth surface, put down some fiberglass (3oz is great, but 6oz can be good if a fine weave), wet it out, put the fin on top, then put glass on the other side, wet out, more parchment paper, then another flat smooth board on top. Add weight to the top evenly - boxes of soda cans, gallon jugs full of water, etc.. Will leave a smooth surface on both sides that need little sanding or filling.

If you plan on flying it with motors up to and including I-impulse, nothing other than good construction TTW style and good internal and external fillets are needed. Plywood doesn't need the treatments balsa gets due to its tighter grain structure. Priming with a high solids primer will give good results. Also epoxy is not needed on PSII kits unless you just want too, wood glue like Titebond is plenty strong enough (even stronger than the wood and cardboard).

Thanks... I figured it may not need it based on how little flex the fins have to begin with. I will end up using a couple of coats of sanding sealer on them too so that should help as well.