Parachute shroud line

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rafael

Reaction score
My Mom is a seamstress and she is making my parachutes for me. What are your thoughts on 100 lb Dacron braided line for a parachute shroud line on a 5 lb rocket ? Do I need higher strength or is 100 lb test enough. Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert, but I have heard that you should size the strength of your recovery system to handle a 50G shock. So 5*50=250lbs. You should be fine strength wise with four lines or more. I personally use 110lb strength rope that I buy in 100ft spools, but my biggest chute had 16 lines. (Overkill, but more gores looked cooler :p )

I have tried braided fishing line, but it seemed to want to tangle easily, and also tended to hold kinks. Your line may be different than what I bought though.

Let us know how it works out,
Kyle

The only experience I have with Dacron was making bowstrings with it. I think some big things are the size of your parachute and how many lines you intend to use. I made a 36" parachute with 8 lines of 150 lb. Kevlar thread for an approximately 4 lb. rocket. That's probably stronger than it needs to be but it has held up under a couple of rough deploys. I don't know if any of that will help you but there's my experience with constructing parachutes so far.

I suggest 100 G minimum. That's a fast opening +/- 5 seconds from apogee. So for a 5 pound rocket that's >500 pounds total.

4 lines > 125 pounds, 6 lines > 90 pounds, 8 lines > 65 pounds, 12 lines > 45 pounds, 16 lines > 35 pounds, etc.

The rated value for lines is the minimum test (breaking) strength. There is no built-in design factor for lines as there is for rated ropes and lifting gear.

Bob