50g instrument payload

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Orkion

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

for a university project I need to send some instruments that weigh 50g, altitude is not critical since this serves mostly to test that the instruments work correctly and can survive a launch (but if it can be adapted for higher altitudes that's a plus). Can someone recommend a kit, or some guidelines to help chose one. I've never built a rocket, but I have some colleagues with experience.

Thanks in advance!

Orkion, there are a lot of guys on this forum that can point you in the right direction, but we need more information. Does the unit need to transmit information to the ground while in flight, or can the rocket be recovered on the ground and the information downloaded? Do you need to scratch build the unit or are prebuilt commercial units ok? Are there guidelines as to what kind of information you need to collect? As "Random Flying Object" asked, what are the size limitations? Where are you located? Many rocket clubs work with university teams to provide launch facilities and equipment, and any help that is needed or allowed. Most of the time university projects have a detailed list of requirments, what are they?

Many of the altimeter units that are used by the model rocket community for example give a great deal of information, and may meet your needs.

Tell us more, and someone will be able to help.

Mike