First sorta scratch two-stage. Seeking advice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amsterdam

Reaction score
I'm almost done with this rocket and admittedly I should have done more research.
I did make on OR simulation but the validity of that is questionable at best.
The booster is scratch built from a destroyed older "D" Big Daddy kit with 1/8 birch plywood fins
the second stage is a new Big daddy kit.

Should I be concerned about the size of the booster fins? Are there any major red flags I should address?

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

What is the OR sim telling you? (And have you entered manual mass/cg overrides?)

heres a screenshot and the file itself, I'm a huge amateur with OR and obviously brand new here
so thanks in advance for everyone's patience

EDIT: I haven't added any overrides. I call it questionable because this is my first time using a sim program.

View attachment aethon.ork

Screenshot (1).jpg

Last edited:
Looks to me as if your margin of stability is not sufficient (0.111 ca).

Just from the eyeball test I'd guess you'll need significantly larger (wider) stage 1 fins.

Tip plates might be a way to do this.

Looks to me as if your margin of stability is not sufficient (0.111 ca).

Just from the eyeball test I'd guess you'll need significantly larger (wider) stage 1 fins.

Tip plates might be a way to do this.

This is a ShortFat rocket it may very well fly on that level of stability. OR and Rocksim neither one sims ShortFats very well because they have increased base drag. Looks like a big daddy with a booster. Make sure to use a longer launch rod, and if flying with a club do it from the HPR pads, this one may fly pretty well. There is a workaround for the shortfats in one of the Apogee news letters.