California to modernize model rocketry code (AB-467)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tanarin

Reaction score
So, I am kinda shocked there has been no mention on here about this, but I figured I pass the word. On April 27th, the California assembly passed their version to put California in line with the national standards for Model rockets. As of now it is in the Senate Governmental Organization committee awaiting it's reading and possible passage to the general Senate.

Bill #: AB 467
Text of bill: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB467

Now, I am not an expert here, but would it be safe to assume if this passes, it could possibly drive down prices a bit for motors, as now manufacturers would not have to make their motors with California in mind? Either way this would have a huge benefit on the hobby as a whole.

Last edited:
So, I am kinda shocked there has been no mention on here about this, but I figured I pass the word. On April 27th, the California assembly passed their version to put California in line with the national standards for Model rockets. As of now it is in the Senate Governmental Organization committee awaiting it's reading and possible passage to the general Senate.

Bill #: AB 467
Text of bill: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB467

Now, I am not an expert here, but would it be safe to assume if this passes, it could possibly drive down prices a bit for motors, as now manufacturers would not have to make their motors with California in mind? Either way this would have a huge benefit on the hobby as a whole.

California will still require hobby rocket motor manufacturers to submit rocket motors for 'classification' by the state before they can be sold. The new regulations/laws will not change this.