Build thread: MAC Performance Rocketry Scorpion.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bat-mite

Rocketeer in MD
Reaction score
This is an introduction to a planned build thread for the MAC Performance Scorpion, 3" diameter x 38mm MMT kit. Received yesterday, I started weighing parts for an OpenRocket sim file. I don't know Mike at MAC Perf., but perhaps he would like to make the OR file available to customers. We'll see. Also, right now the pic on the web site is naked. If mine turns out "display worthy," I will shoot him a picture and see if he wants to use it.

Color scheme will be all black, with some white trim, hopefully by StickerShock. I have never done a black and white rocket before, so this should be fun.

I build slow, so this will not be a rapid fire thread. And I plan to steal all of Dan Patell's techniques, so it won't be anything new, either. :w:

Tonight I plan to do the parts picture, clean the parts, and maybe start the MMT and/or AV bay. I'll get my pictures up as time permits.

Cool! Looking forward to this build!

I gotta ask...was it worth adding items to get the free shipping?

:)

Ha! I was going to reuse some old harnesses, but then I decoded to get new ones, and that put me over the threshold.

I ordered pour foam and an Aeropack from RW, so now I am way over budget anyway. :)

Update: last night, I was tired and just didn't feel like doing much. Do others get that way? All day at work I was looking forward to going home and getting started, and then once I was able to build, I just didn't much feel like it. Weird, huh?

So, I epoxied the struts to the Av sled (will add small screws later), epoxied the forward CR to the MMT, epoxied the harness holder to the CR, and epoxied the switch band to the coupler. I also took parts pictures. Will upload soon, maybe tonight.