Super noob: How long should my rocket be?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

imminenthippo

Reaction score
I'm building an egg lofter for an altitude competition, this is my first time. I'm trying out OpenRocket to model the rocket but it's been bothering me whether or not it matters how long my rocket is. What exactly does the length of the rocket affect? Whenever I shorten the rocket, OpenRocket just keeps telling me the apogee will be higher and higher. How short is too short? How long would be good?

Also, i'm not sure how large the inner diameter of my body tube should be. I want to easily fit an 18" parachute, but at the smallest possible diameter so the rocket is skinny as possible. My current diameter is 2.7cm, which I just picked arbritrarily. We're only allowed a B6-4 motor, which has an 18mm diameter

Last question how do i delete a thread?

Last edited:
https://exploration.grc.nasa.gov/education/rocket/rktstab.html

Welcome to the forum ! The length of the rocket has the biggest affect on the balance point (center of gravity, Cg) of the airframe. The Cg must be ahead (towards the nose) of the center of aerodynamic pressure (Cp) for a rocket to be stable. The Cp is the point where the aerodynamic forces like lift and drag balance out. OpenRocket calculates both values; the Cg will only be accurate if you add the total flight-ready weight including egg, recovery device, and motor. The Cp is determined by the size and shape of the body and the size, shape, and location of the fins.

Based on your design parameters you will need to build light; a B6 is not a big motor to push an egg. I think a 24mm diameter body is needed to easily fit an 18 inch parachute. How are you planning to hold the egg ? Pictures of any components you already have would be great along with your .ork file. Good Luck.

Some of mine:

IMG_0169 (1024x768).jpg