Black powder vs. pyrodex

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

molten_dragon

Reaction score
I'm just getting into dual deployment for the first time, and I need to buy some powder. I've looked at Cabelas and Gander mountain, as well as a couple local gun shops, and all I can find is pyrodex, no actual black powder. Will pyrodex work okay for dual deployment, or should I keep trying to find a place that has actual black powder?

I have heard the same that it can be used but I have only used Goex 4F.
Try one of the vendors at you launch site. They usualy sell it. Also, you can find it on-line at some reloading sites but they usually want you to buy bulk and a 1 lb. can will last a long time!

I've never use pyrodex but others have. You do have to contain the charge significantly to get consistent burning and gas generation. When people explain how to contain the charges I always think its like putting cherry bomb in your rocket for an ejection charge. I know it's not that bad, but still, I'll stick to the BP.

Try Bass Pro Michigan store locater....I found this, don't know what city your near:https://www.basspro.com/GOEX-Black-Powder/product/120829053247144/?cmCat=
Yes you have to ask for it, kept in back stored in a magazine. Don't be dumb enough to mention rockets...just ask for the BP and let it go at that. I have NEVER been asked what I want it for. Once the clerk di ask me what brand of fire arm I used, simply replied it was a gift for my cousin who hunts.....no problemo!
Or this at Gander:https://www.gandermountain.com/modp...Pioneer-FFFg-Powder&i=415566&r=view&from=grid

PS: this Bass Pro is in Auburn Hills Mi

Last edited: