I HATE BIN LADEN !!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fallingrocket

Reaction score
I have been playing with sugar propellants off and on for a few yrs. I only want to make smaller sizes ("g" or smaller) so pouring the melted propellant into small molds is a huge hassle to do consistently. I finally discovered a great method that makes great fuel in a dry powder form and it can be dampened with alcohol and rammed with a mallet. Once dry the grains are very hard and it burns better than any iv'e tried using the molten method. But now I CANT BUY ANY FREAKIN PAPER TUBES.:facepalm: I can,t believe that its gotten that bad. I have tried all the pyro supply stores. They either dont ship to canada or they require an explosives permit to buy them. The only option was to buy long lengths and cut them. Not a huge deal except for the insane shipping cost to get here. Seriously an explosives permit to buy small paper tubes? Are they freaking kidding me? So now i,ve got fuel and rockets but no bloody motor tubes.

The permit requirements for short paper tubes are a result of the CPSC lawsuits against many vendors some years ago - nothing to do with the SEA (Safe Explosives Act). All has to do with "kits" for destructive devices - mostly M-80s.

KO

Last edited:
I actually wish the cti motors had a closed end like the aerotech. I would buy a half dozen pro24 cases and a set of end caps and just pack them into the tubes.

Perhaps you can roll your own? All you need is kraft paper and some glue and a mandrel of appropriate size. I've done that for making blackpowder motors, and it does work.