Two e-matches per deployment charge?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kjkcolorado

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm just starting the ground testing of a 4" scratch built Blue Tube rocket. This is my first attempt at altimeter based electronic deployment, and if all goes well i hope to fly it for my Level 2 certification flight. I am using MJG's FireWire Initiators. During my initial tests making my deployment charges I had one fail to ignite. This was prior to getting the good advice on this forum to test the resistance of the e-match prior to constructing the charge. This past weekend I caught one e-match that read a resistance over the manufacturers specs, and it indeed failed to ignite. This has me considerng my redundancy/backup strategies. I did not build the av-bay with redundant altimeters to keep cost down and to keep it simple. My design includes a zipperless coupler with baffle for motor back-up to apogee/drogue deployment. My long winded question is if anyone uses two e-matches per deployment charge as another level of redundancy? If so, given my design do you think this is necessary? Maybe for the main chute deployment only?

I have seen multiple people use two e-matches per deployment. I know when we did the portapotty launch, we had two e-matches for each charge and for each altimeter.

Is it necessary? Most of the time, probably not. But the one time it fails, you will wish you had.

However, with a 4" AV bay, you have plenty of room to add a second altimeter. At that point you have a more complete backup system.

I use two matches per charge in my L3 rocket. It is cheap insurance. I am surprised that you have had two failures in what sounds to be a relatively small sample of matches. I am making an assumption that after the failures you directly connected the matches in question to a 9v battery to verify that they were bad.