Home Made Controller??

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobN

Reaction score
Hi all,

Total newbie here thinking about making my own controller. I have been launching a few low power (A-C) rockets (just built a Bid Daddy though) with the cub scouts for a couple of years and thought we needed a multiple rocket controller and something better than the Estes Controller. I know very little about circuits and after much searching and research came up with a schematic that I think will work.

I welcome any thoughts, criticisms and corrections:

3R-Controller-v2snip.png

Thanks in advance,
Rob.

Welcome aboard. I don't see anything glaringly wrong with your diagram. Very important that you have your resistor values correct. Do you have an internal and external battery diagramed just so you have options? If you wanted to do just a small battery, like a 9v, for continuity checks, you could then switch over for the big one for launching.

Thanks Ton,

I have no clue on resistor size. I did find a parts list for a similar design that used a 470 Ohm resistor, so I tested that with a very simplified mock up and it worked fine. I suspect I will burn out a quite few igniters doing full testing and will test different size resistors to find what works. The external battery was an afterthought as I have an 8 AA battery holder that I was going to use, but after reading that a lot of people use lawn/motorcycle... batteries for all day launches, I decided I would incorporate an external battery as well. Easy enough to have a backup if needed.

So this design should work? I like the idea of single or simultaneous launches as well as continuity lights and the lighted ready/selected switches and my son insists that it have the flip up lighted arming switch.

Thanks, Rob.

R= (es-e led)/I led

e LED will depend on the color of the light emitted by the LED's
Red LED 2 v