Blackhawk 54mm on a Loki L1400 (Minimum Diameter)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I've been lurking around the forum for awhile, but I've never posted a build thread before - I thought I'd try it out and see what you guys think. I built a Wildman Blackhawk 54mm rocket and managed to squeeze in a Loki L1400. I'll just spam a bunch of pictures below and kind of describe things. I'm still pretty new to the hobby and I had alot of help/ learned alot during this process.

One of my goals for the project was to learn how to do a carbon fiber overwrap on the fins. David Kittell was my mentor here. He taught me the process and allowed me to use the materials/tools in his inventory. The image below describes the layering process we used:

WP_20141019_065.jpg

Having never done this before, I decided to first do a carbon fiber overwrap on my wildman junior, which I had launched many times before. The idea here was to allow me to learn the process and to be able to do a better job for round 2 on the Blackhawk 54. Below, you can see that we made a fin template and cut out all the necessary layers of material. This pink layer is the bleeder layer.

WP_20141019_004.jpg

Here, you see the "diaper" layer already cut out. This is a cotton layer that absorbs all of the excess epoxy as it is pulled out of the carbon fiber. The green plastic on the floor is the vacuum bag material about to be traced and cut out.

WP_20141019_011.jpg

Gus cuts out the carbon fiber layer. It's important to use a pizza cutter here, not scissors. The carbon fiber frays very easily.

WP_20141019_026.jpg