New Member Introduction

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zanfar

Reaction score
I haven't found any rules in this vein, but other forums I've been on make it mandatory or at least "good form" to make your first post an introduction. Therefore…

Hello, my name is Matthew, I'm a BAR from Boise, Idaho. I'm an Electrical Engineer that moved out here for work three years ago from Phoenix.

I Started model rocketry as a kid in about 1992, still remember my Halloween Alpha 3 that came with my launch kit. I've always been an on-and-off modeler, so I quickly added numerous kits to my inventory. I remember a Big Bertha that was always fun, and the Estes Tomcat which failed to deploy and did an amazing lawn dart impression about 10′ from the park's playground (we definitely should have been using a different launch site, but I was 12 and didn't know better)--scaring me enough to put the hobby away for a while.

As the winter rolls in on this part of the country, and the motorcycle is put up for the season, I've been looking for a low-impact hobby to occupy my time. It used to be a tradition in my family to launch rockets at our annual Christmas gathering, and now that my neices and nephews are old enough to enjoy watching a launch, I figured I could take it up again.

It appears that Idaho has a fairly active Tripoli/NAR club in the area, and I am planning on attending their next meeting. Meanwhile, a few kits are on their way from AC Supply Co. with the intent of casually attempting the NARTrek Bronze goals when launching starts again.

Anywho, that ended up being much longer than intended. Thanks for all the help I've already found here, and I guess I'll see y'all around.

P.S. Any SW Idaho members: I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on the Tripoli Idaho club, and other LPR launch sites.

Lemme be the first to say... 歡迎 (Welcome)