Centuri BT60 Vulcan Upscale

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAL3

Reaction score
Since I was a kid, I have always been captivated by the paper shrouded rockets like "The Point". My biggest nemesis, however, was always the Centuri Vulcan. I built lots of them but never got one to behave or even look very good:(...until I became a BAR and cloned one. It's not the best flyer in the world but it actually works which is more than I can say about any that I built in the 70s.;)

Recently, I have been in contact with Blades from TRF about his 24mm upscale and he kindly sent me the PDFs for the shrouds. After some conversation, we mentioned other scales and I mentioned that I used to be an engineer and still had a color plotter that handles media up to 5 feet wide and 300 feet long. This also means no splicing of the shrouds!:D

I tried to print first on a sheet of posterboard but the plotter did not like that. The media was too thick. I visited the local paper distributor and found 130# cardstock that was less expensive, bigger, thinner and stronger than the posterboard. I ordered some sheets and resolved to give it a try.;)

It took some trial and error but I found that landscape orientation would actually work.

Now I gotta figure out the rest of this hare-brained scheme!:surprised:

Special thanks to Blades for making this possible: your shrouds are in the mail.

Also thanks to Greg, the guy who makes my printers behave because they don't like me very much.

plotting-1.jpg

plotting-2.jpg

plotting-3.jpg

plotted-1.jpg

plotted-2.jpg

Can you print up more copies to sell?

Looks like an upscale would be fun!

Keep everyone in the loop on how you are progressing!

Thanks
Les

Can you print up more copies to sell?

Looks like an upscale would be fun!

Keep everyone in the loop on how you are progressing!

Thanks
Les