"E" powered Pathfinder clone

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rocketsmith

Reaction score
This is my first build thread, my first mid-powered rocket and its a clone at that. ;)

This whole thing started at Christmas when I got an Estes Engine Mount Accessories Pack w/ an "E" engine mount from my wife. :santaclaus: I hope she did not pay full price. Hobby People wants $10.75 for tubes and rings that I already have. :mad:

I posted a thread asking for E powered kit suggestions and Johnnie was nice enough to suggest the Pathfinder (Estes #1997). I got the plans from JimZ and placed my Semroc order. Thanks Johnnie! :wave:

Basically all I needed from Semroc for this build was the transition and the nose cone. The other parts I ordered are for an upscale (BT-80) Estes Tartar missile clone but that is another tread. Cheryl added a blemished BNC-80BB at not cost to my order. Thanks Cheryl! :wave:

Now I’m contemplating a 3x18mm cluster Big Bertha at the suggestion of Indiana. :D

Here is my parts list:
1 BT-60 (18” long)
1 BT-55 (18” long)
1 BNC-55AC, secant ogive from Semroc
2 RA5060 Centering rings
1 Estes “E” Engine motor mount kit, Christmas present
1 TA-5560A transition from Semroc
1 12” nylon parachute from Top Flight
SCK 400# kevlar thread
Tubular elastic, from Wal-Mart
1 Eye screw
Sheet of 1/8” balsa
Aerogloss Sanding Sealer
Krylon Auto Primer

First I built the motor mount per the kit instructions except I cut a notch to feed the Kevlar through. I also cut a shallow notch for the squiggly end of the engine hook. I masked the engine hook and painted the whole thing black. I always do this now-a-days, I think it adds to the fit and finish of the model.

It looks like the same model but the Viper's fins look rectangular and the Pathfinder's fins appear square.