Hi this is not a rocket project but a reactor motor project using rocket motors???

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JATO

Reaction score
Hi I am a well experienced RC modeler mostly doing all sorts of model planes and mostly high speed such as 200mph up to and including pulse jet motors

I now wish to do a rocket motor project attached to a plane just for fun to get super fast speeds sub 300MPH probably 250 MPH for a few seconds similar in concept to
JATO jet assisted take off but better refered to as
JAMS Jet assisted max speed :cool:

Already RC model planes are regularly doing 300MPH with turbine pulse jets and DS Dynamic soaring so this project is not out to break any RC model flight speeds records which stand at 420MPH with a turbine jet motor in a dive

So now I am looking for any PRACTICAL solution to liquid fuel reactor(rocket) motors

MAJOR requirements fairly cheap and cheerful even at the risk of much lower power outputs

The project so far

Attach a suitable 4 to 6kg reactor motor to a modified F5D ~1 meter ~(3 foot ) wing span RC model plane for fun to get small very fast runs reaching speeds of 250MPH plus for a few seconds.

Requirements motor run times of some 3 to 5 seconds ideally with ability to PRECISION light up in flight and PRECISION relight several times making say 4 motor runs of 5 seconds each and glide around in between motor burns and electric motor with folding prop or bungee launch take off or both to get to full height to commence first reactor motor runs

The research to date eliminates most off the shelf rocketry solutions for various reasons

The pulse jet solutions is not what I wish to do in this time as the pulse motors are very large for the KG push and cant be easily relight in mid air

Steam reactor power solutions look to be too heavy in this time