What is the best kind of paint to use to get that perfect finish??

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OCoutlaw88

Reaction score
I can never seem to get that finish i want. ususally i buy krylon spray paint and i use krylon primer before applying the paint. but is there a better paint out there or even a cheaper one that does the same thing?? and are there any special techniques i need to know as far as applying the paint? (distance from rocket, # of coats, sanding?)

OK, I think I get to say this first this time........THIS subject has been covered quite a few times in this forum.

hey im new to rocketry kind of i need help from u experts ok

He means just do a search on "paint", it is a topic discussed often and at length around here.

Just to summarize, Krylon Enamel rattlecan is just fine, many many people use it and you can get a "perfect" paint job with it.

ok so i can continue using krylon but how many coats should i use? and should i do any sanding?

It's not the paint:
It's the technique and experience. Anyone and EVERYONE can produce nearly perfect finishes from Spray can applied paints with proper technique, practice and just a little experience.
I've been preaching this for so long it absurd. download Tech-tips 002-005 from www.narhams.org library. with a little practice you'll be fine;)

Ps; I'll say this again cause it's so very true:
Their is absolutely NOTHING on this earth that is or ever will be Perfect. To strive for perfection is fine, just don't be to overly obsessive about it. If your anything like many of us, you'll Never be completely pleased with your finished products. That my friend is LIFE;) Remember this is supposed to be fun:)