rail button question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

irishwebber01

Reaction score
Hey guys had a question, this is my Horizon54 and if your not farmiliar with the kit it's from BSD 67" tall and a 4" BT. My question is this is my first time using rail buttons and was wondering if this placement looked ok? one is just above aft CR and the other is 16" up from the bottom, I debated three but alot of people said for this size rocket two was fine and three also increases rail binding problems so I wanted some opinions from my fellow rockeholics...thanks.

Drew

Looks ok to me from the picture.

You don't want to add three if you don't need to (real long
rocket might need three). They will bind if not all in-line.

William

Originally posted by irishwebber01
Hey guys had a question, this is my Horizon54 and if your not farmiliar with the kit it's from BSD 67" tall and a 4" BT. My question is this is my first time using rail buttons and was wondering if this placement looked ok? one is just above aft CR and the other is 16" up from the bottom, I debated three but alot of people said for this size rocket two was fine and three also increases rail binding problems so I wanted some opinions from my fellow rockeholics...thanks.

Drew
The bottom rail button should be into the aft centering ring and the top button should be one to two calipers below the center of gravity when it's loaded like it would be on the pad. If the rocket weighs more then a few pounds then the top rail button should really be into a centering ring as well or some other type of positive retention.

Three buttons are OK to use but they have to be aligned dead on straight or you may have problems.

Andrew

I usually put on at the CG and one in the bottom CR, usually screwed into a threaded insert. 2 is definitely enough for a rocket this size - I wouldn't use 3.