Carbon Fiber

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JJI

Reaction score
I am planning to order some parts from Commonwealth for a 38mm minimum diameter build. I am going to use an ACME fin can so I am not concerned abour reinforcing the fins, but I would like to use CF to reinforce the body tube. As i am a bit new to this type of construction, can someone please tell me if the CF sold by Commonwealth (found at the following link) is what I should be using to reinforce the body tube? Thanks.

https://www.commonwealth.net/cgi-bin/info.pl?prodcode=AHUNIC1003&url=bm/unic1003.htm

Josh

thats unidirectional CF, it only strengthens in one direction, its best to use bidirectional on a tube, the unidirectional is good for fins with the fiber direction going perpendicular to the root of the fin.

carbon fiber

thats the stuff I used for min diameter rockets.. I got it before the war started and it was only about $28/yard. I should have gotten more than 3 yards at that price! Carbon aerosleeves are a good alternative, they look much easier.. because carbon fiber is very stiff, its hard to wrap around a tube and stay wrapped, especially on smaller tubes.. so after its wrapped you have to go back and keep checking on it to push down the bubbles where it starts to peel off. And with the aerosleves you dont have to worry about the seam.

Brian:

Thanks for the info -- I think I'm better off just glassing the tube.

Josh

Originally posted by Brian Barney
I got it before the war started and it was only about $28/yard. I should have gotten more than 3 yards at that price!

Maybe the war is over?? AVT composites has the ~6oz 2x2 twill for $34. It's $58 at aircraftspruce. Shop around a bit.

If I'm going to glass a 38mm body tube for a minimum diameter rocket, what weight cloth should I use? 2 oz? 6 oz? Thanks!

Originally posted by JJI
Brian: