Launch Controller Idea

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RadMax8

Reaction score
Hey guys, been in and out of the Model Rocketry scene for a few years. I built my own launch pad a couple years ago and I wanted to build a launch control box to go with it. I'm not launching anything crazy (LPR and maybe in the future MPR) but I kinda want to build something to say, hey, I built it myself!

I've got an idea for how it might look. I'm an engineer (student) but not an electrician. I may need some help on the schematics to get this up and running, or maybe someone to tell me just to buy a GO-Box. Anyway, here's the idea. When the 12V battery is connected, a POWER LED lights up. Arming the device will be accomplished by flipping a safety toggle switch. This will light up an ARMED LED, which also serves as the continuity light. To launch, a simple push button would be used.

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance for any help, this is a really great forum for rocketry!!!

Perfect. I built one very much like thet but used a buzzer instead of a light.

You need to incorporate a removable safety interlock device that is in series with the launch button.

Mark K.

Two things:

1.) You need to use resistors in series with LEDs. I would make sure that no more than 1mA goes through your continuity circuit, otherwise, you could set off e-matches and Quest Q2G2s.

2.) Make sure your safety interlock is a key/pin/something removable from the launch system. A speaker jack wired to itself works great for this.

Re: the safety interlock. The idea is that if you walk away from the launch controller, there will be no way to activate the launch button and supply power to the igniter clips because you are carrying with you a key piece that is required in order to complete the circuit. This feature is required under NFPA 1124 and 1127 and is part of every Safety Code.