Portable Power Source for 12v launcher

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

strikeanywhere45

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm considering getting into mid-power rocketry with the Initiator Starter Kit. Only problem is I don't want to have to be tethered to my car and the Interlock controller (as well as every other 12v controller) require a car battery. I've heard of some people creating custom cases for motorcycle batteries but that adds the cost of the battery and the charger. I was just wondering what some of y'all were doing to get your rockets off the ground other than the car battery, or if you're happy just using the car battery. Thanks.

I have been using a ryobi 12v rechargable drill battery for the last 2 years with no problems. I have even fired cluster of 12 bp motors and all lit perfect.

I use something like this, only mine doesn't have the emergency light or air compressor. I got it a couple of years ago at Radio Shack. It was on clearance, and I paid something like $26 for it. And to be perfectly honest, I did actually buy it to launch rockets, and not to jump start my car. :D I just clip the two cables to the two corresponding battery connectors on my Interlock Controller, and launch away. I have never even gotten the battery as much as half-drained. It is a sealed lead-acid battery, so it loves to be charged. Mine weighs about 8 lbs.

As long as we are talking about the AT Interlock Controller, let me suggest a slight modification to make it much more versatile. The mod is simple:

At Radio Shack, pick up:

• a small spool (or partial spool) of 18-gauge speaker wire (two conductor)
  • a pack or two of bullet connectors, in the size appropriate for 18-gauge wire (the kind with the red covers)
  • a pack or two of micro-clips
  • a pack of heat-shrink tubing or a can of liquid insulating tape