hybrid motors

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gerbs4me

Reaction score
If I decide to get into HPR, which hybrid motor should I buy? and how much would the motor cost?

I think the question really is one of which support equipment you have avalaible. Startup costs for hybrids are pretty steep if you don't have access to the equipment through your club. It sounds like Hypertek has a pretty good hold on the market right now, though.

Someone else will have more info, though. I have no experience with hybrids and I'm hoping to learn from what others have to say as well.

Well... it depends on what you want.

Hybrid motors range from the RATT Works H70 to the HyperTek M1040 in size, so that shouldn't be an issue.

If you want a huge range of available motors with some interchangeability and the fastest turn around times, then I would choose the HyperTek system. The GSE is a bit steep, but the system is sound and it works really well. The buzz is a neat feature of this as well.

If you want 29mm or 64mm hybrids, or plan to get into EX hybrids, then I would choose a RATT Works/Propulsion Polymers/West Coast Hybrids motor. These designs incorporate a U/C Valve which is the easiest method of ignition. These systems also have cheaper GSE than the HyperTek.

HyperTek motors have non-pyro ignition. RATT/PP/WCH motors don't. Both systems require you to have long motor mounts and drill vent holes at the right locations.

Bottom line: do a little research and decide which fits your application best. I love both systems, and I fly them both regularly. You can get more info at https://www.flyhybrids.com and at the respective manufacturer websites https://www.hypertekhybrids.com, https://www.rattworks.com, https://www.propulsionpolymers.com, and https://www.westcoasthybrids.com.

Fun, aye?