Dual deployment

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Brubaker

Reaction score
I certified Level 1 the other month and now I would like to build a rocket with electronics. I have a 4 inch airframe and I would like to learn about different methods before I start construction. For example, what is the minimum size for the main and drogue compartments? I can not find this info anywhere. I have looked at "Missile Works" site and an article in High Power Rocketry by Ed Miller. I am looking to do it right and not necessarily the easiest way. Any sugestions would be helpful, web sites and personal experiences. I just found this site and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

Mike,

I am no expert and have yet to build a rocket with dual deployment or electronics, but have come to understand exactly how the dual deployment is set up.

Here is one good place to check out in case you haven't found it already.

https://www.info-central.org/index.cgi?recovery

This is Rocketry Online's INFOCentral.

I'll let the experts describe this one. If no one else hops in, I'd be glad to give you my interpretation. Granted, there's no experience to back it up, thus the reason I'll wait 'til the pro's chime in.

Mike,

Welcome to the forum! Unfortunately, I have no experience whatsoever with electronics, so I can't help ya there. My guess would be that as long as you can fit what needs to be there in the compartment, it's big enough. I'm sure it won't take long to get a real answer though from someone who's done it a whole buncha times.

Jon

I've never seen dual-deployment done in anything smaller than a 2.14" ID [inner diameter] tube. Theoretically, most of the dual-deploying altimeters will fit into a 1.52" ID tube, but then you've got to figure out how to mount it so it stays put.